Croydon Buddhist Centre

WELCOME BUDDHIST MEDITATION CONTACT US ABOUT US

SANGHA DAY

Sunday 25th November

 

Every rainy season the disciples would gather on retreat, renew their friendships, share insights and hear the Dharma. On this day we celebrate the spiritual community of committed friends and their supportive influence in leading the Buddhist life.

BUDDHIST FESTIVALS 2018

BUDDHA DAY

Sunday 27th May

 

This is the central festival of the Buddhist year. On the May full moon, seated under the Bodhi tree, the Buddha awakened to the truth which He knew went beyond all suffering.

DHARMA DAY

Sunday 29th July

 

Eight weeks passed after the Buddha's Enlightenment, and on this full moon day, the Buddha first communicated his understanding to another human being. We celebrate the Gift of the Dharma and its transformative effect in our lives.

PARINIRVANA DAY

Sunday 18th February

 

On this day Buddhists commemorate the passing into final Nirvana of the Buddha. We contemplate the universal truth of impermanence and bring metta to the individual losses we have experienced in the past year.

Photo0092 P1060824 (2) shakyamuni4 (2) P1050404 (2)

The Buddhist year is rich in festivals, including those celebrating the Three Jewels - the Buddha, Dharma and Sangha, the unifying ideals for all Buddhists. Buddhists around the world gather to meditate together, perform puja and reaffirm their commitment. Most festivals fall on or near the Full Moon, following the tradition of the Buddha's own disciples who marked the full moon by practising together.

 

In addition we hold monthly FULL MOON PUJAS, bringing a ritual dimension to everyday life.

englishwoman abroad 001 (77)1

It is good to see the noble ones. Their company is always a delight. The Buddha

moon1

 

 

Tuesday 2nd January

Wednesday 31st January

Friday 2nd March

Saturday 31st March

Monday 30th April

Tuesday 29th May

Thursday 28th June

Friday 27th July

Sunday 26th August

Tuesday 25th September

Wednesday 24th October

Friday 23rd November

Saturday 22nd December

Full Moon Dates 2018